skip to Main Content

OC Music Awards Announces the 2014 Nominees in 22 Categories

OCMA2014_ACE Slider






The Awards Academy has voted, the ballots have been sorted and the 2014 OC Music Awards nominees in 22 Academy selected categories have been determined. The 2014 list of nominations welcomes back some OC Music Awards former winners and nominees as well as some fresh faces to the list of stand out local artists.

This announcement includes 22 of the 26 total 2014 Awards category nominees. Still to come are announcements for OC Impact and Lifetime Achievement honors on February 11, the Best Live Band Showcase Series finalists after the last Showcase on February 18, and The People’s Choice Award nominees on March 4.

The OC Music Awards Showcase Series kicked off January 7 at Yost Theater launching eight weeks of Showcases to determine the winner of Beat Live Band, leading up to the main Awards show at City National Grove of Anaheim on March 8. Fans can cast their popchips FUN FAN vote for their favorite Showcase Series artist to help them advance to their category Finals, and vote online for your favorite band in Orange County to receive the People’s Choice Award.

And the 2014 OC Music Awards nominees are….

2014 OC Music Awards Nominees
(Nominees listed in alphabetical order per category)

Album of the Year – Must be released in 2013
Avenged Sevenfold – “Hail to the King”
Jeramiah Red – “The Winter Tick”
Kiev – “Falling Bough Wisdom Teeth”
New Years Day – “Victim to Villain”
Zebrahead – “Call Your Friends”

Song of the Year – Must be released in 2013
Annie McQueen – “Take Me Home”
Avenged Sevenfold – “Hail to the King”
The Colourist – “Little Games”
Young the Giant – “It’s About Time”
Zebrahead – “Call Your Friends”

Best New Artist
Big Monsta
David & Olivia
Mt. Ossa
Tapioca and the Flea
The Hicks Canyon Band 

Best Alternative
Iron Sharpens Iron
The Offspring

Best Blues
Brother C & Sister J
Jeramiah Red
Parker Macy Blues
Robert Jon and the Wreck
Walter Trout 

Best Club DJ
Daniel Mihai aka DJ Thrifty Lips
DJ Mikey P
DJ Jeremiah Red
DJ Kedd Cook
Norin and Rad

Best Country/Americana
Alice Wallace
Annie McQueen
Big Sandy and his Fly-Rite Boys
David & Olivia
Moonsville Collective

Best Electronic
Kalva Won
Lobo Incognito
Sonny Spectrum

Best Folk
David & Olivia
Matt Costa
Micah Brown
The Ultimate Bearhug
Vinnie & The Hooligans

Best Hip Hop
Kevin Parx
King of Somewhere
Locally Grown Collective
Speech Impediments

Best Indie
The Colourist
The Devious Means
The Steelwells
Young the Giant

Best Jazz
Chris Williams
Evan Stone
Gina Saputo
Nancy Sanchez
Tony Guerrero

Best Latin
Boogaloo Assasins
Cat Mendez
Nancy Sanchez
Orquesta Cortez

Best Metal
Avenged Sevenfold
I, Of Helix
Iron Sharpens Iron
Stick To Your Guns

Best Pop
Breach the Summit
Gal Musette
Stacy Clark
Suburban Legends

Best Punk
Red Devil Squadron
Social Distortion
The Adolescents
The Garden

Best Rock
Anna Vexa
Jeramiah Red
Neo Geo
Robert Jon and the Wreck
Well Hung Heart

Best Surf
The Growlers
The Mai Tais
The Originalites
Tomorrow’s Tulips
Wheeland Brothers

Best World
Hooray for Our Side
Reel Big Fish
The Dirty Heads 

Best Music Producer
Barrett Slagle
Dallas Kruse
Jon O’Brien
Mitch Maanao
Lewis Richards 

Best Music Video
Avenged Sevenfold – “Hail to the King”
Suburban Legends – “Kiss the Girl”
The Growlers – “One Million Lovers”
Well Hung Heart – “Bulls#!T”
Young the Giant – “It’s About Time”

Best Youth Artist
A+ Dropouts
Pop! Fiction
Un D Vided
Undecided Future
Ugly Paint






Back To Top